INTERVIEW // October Employee of the Month: Jeanette from Proof Bar

October’s employee of the month Jeanette is a hard-working gal: drink-slinger at Proof Bar, DJ (as Polyester), booker/promoter/hostess, and then some. Polyester and partner-in-crime, DJ Master Droog throw The Project Wednesdays, a weekly night devoted to psych, garage, rock ‘n’ roll, punk, and indie in the form of live bands and all-vinyl DJs. Master Droog contributes his slick graphic design prowess to the venture and Polyester books bands & DJs and (wo)mans the mic, introducing acts and keeping things moving along. With an emphasis on whiskey-swilling (a shot of Jameson is the usual drink special) and the weirdest movies I’ve ever seen projected onto the walls, it’s always a lively time.

Join the debauchery tonight, Wed. 10/31 (HALLOWEEN!) for live music from Orangutron, The Moan & more and vinyl selections from Polyester, Master Droog, and yours truly, as DJ Tasty. I’ll also be joining them November 14th for the 2nd night of Electro City‘s residency along with one of my favorite local bands The Meka Leka Hi’s!

Check out my interview with Jeanette and the flyers below and hope to see you at The Project!  Proof Bar, 215 N. Broadway, Santa Ana, CA 92701

Project Halloween

The Project presents Halloween Madhouse Vo2:
+ Orangutron (Santa Ana) – Midnight
+ Wyatt Blair and Friends (LA) – 11pm
+ The Moan (Santa Ana) – 10:15pm
+ Sean Hopkins Acoustic Solo Act (of Bayside Rollers) – 9:45pm
+ DJs Polyester, Master Droog, & Tasty spinning all wax all night!
21+, No Cover, $5 Jameson till midnight!

Electro Residency

t♥a: What are your favorite bars and venues in Santa Ana, Long Beach and beyond?

J: I absolutely love The Prospector in Long Beach! I have had many opportunities to book and spin there and the staff treat you like family. I’m usually there on a Tuesday or Thursday for the local live music and they usually have a good line-up. Some other joints I like are Alex’s Bar (Long Beach), The Copper Door (Santa Ana), The Avalon (Costa Mesa), Redwood Bar (LA) and The Continental Room (Fullerton).

Jeanette1

In action at Proof Bar. Photo by Pierce 42 Photography.

t♥a: How did you get into booking bands?

J: I started booking at Proof Bar (Santa Ana) for The Project Wednesdays with my other half, DJ Master Droog. Proof has always been booking bands and never will stop — I just picked it up where it left off and took it a different direction. We will be hitting our two year anniversary in March! I started out booking friends in bands, which grew to becoming mutual friends with other friends — it really is a whole chain reaction. I have a learned a lot and have had so much fun doing it. I am so lucky to have worked with so many up-and-coming bands!

jeanette2

Halloween 2010 at Proof Bar

t♥a: What do you love about bartending? What do you hate about it?

J: I love meeting the different personalities that people are before and after they’ve had a few drinks. Some of the conversations I get stuck in are always amusing and I love telling stories and getting to relive old crazy memories. It’s nice when it’s slow sometimes cause I get to kick back with a brew and just talk someone’s ear off cause that’s what they came in for. There’s also a rush I get when I work busy nights. I don’t think I really can say I hate anything about bartending. Sure, it can be frustrating sometimes but they make for some great stories.

Wizardry

Proof Bar Wizardry

t♥a: Why do you stick to a vinyl-only format? Sometimes I meet people who don’t get it.

J: I guess one would have to be a record collector to fully understand. People who collect records have a certain connection to each album. They can tell you where they bought it, how much it was, and how they have been looking for that album forever. The quality sound of vinyl vs mp3 is so different – well, at least for the genre of music I spin. I stick to an all vinyl format because I prefer that raw sound. I like flipping through crates to search for what to play next. I may be limited to what genre or songs I have but that’s what’s fun about it! I one time spun a 5 hour set at South Coast Plaza — I definitely didn’t know I was going to spin that long and didn’t bring that many records with me but I still managed. I also enjoy watching others who spin records. I’m always impressed with what albums other DJs own.

jeanette4

Polyester and Master Droog

t♥a: Will you reveal some of your favorite shops for vintage clothing? Favorite record stores?

J: I like to shop 4th Street in Long Beach for vintage. A lot of my favorite vintage tops came from Buffalo Exchange though. You got first dibs if you worked there — it was so dangerous for my bank account. I love to shop Burger Records (Fullerton) for psych and garage. Some other record stores I frequent are Fingerprints (Long Beach), Mass Media Records (Santa Ana), and Amoeba. There are so many record stores popping up and so many I still need to fall in love with.

Thank you, Jeanette! ♥ tracey

About traceyheartsart

Check out my blog for smirky, smiley, snarky updates on local music, art, politics, libations, veg food, and thrifty finds in Downtown Santa Ana and beyond... https://traceyheartsart.wordpress.com @traceyheartsart
This entry was posted in Bands, Downtown Santa Ana, Employee of the Month, Interview, Live Music, Music, On Broadway, Santa Ana and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

